Monday, January 31, 2011

USDP member elected chief of Mon State Assembly

Monday, 31 January 2011 21:33 Ko Pauk

New Delhi (Mizzima) – Members of the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) were elected as chief, assistant chief and chairman of the Mon State Assembly.

Kyin Pe, a lawmaker from Chaungzon Township constituency No. (2), was elected as chief of the assembly; Htay Lwin, a lawmaker from Kyaikto constituency No. (1), was elected as the assistant chief; and Ohn Myint, a retired Brigadier General, and a lawmaker from Mudon constituency No. (1) was elected chairman.

Naing Ngwe Thein, the chairman of the All Mon Region Democracy Party (AMRDP), told Mizzima that his party nominated Dr. Min Nwe Soe, who received seven votes. Kyin Pe received 24 votes.

Similary, the USDP nominated Htay Lwin assistant chief of the assembly and the AMRDP nominated Min Nwe Soe again. Htay Lwin defeated Min Nwe Soe, 23 votes to eight.

There are a total of 31 lawmakers in the Mon State Assembly; 11 are from the USDP; seven from the AMRDP; two from the National Unity Party; eight from the military and three are ethnic parliamentary representatives.

The parliamentary session was held in the Yamanya Hall, which is also the site of the Mon State Peace and Development Council office.

Naing Ngwe Thein said there was no other business conducted during the assembly session. Later, the president of the national Parliament will appoint a regional assembly president and various regional ministers.

Leave a Reply