Monday, January 10, 2011

Dr. Than Nyein re-elected as party chairman

Monday, 10 January 2011 23:02 Tun Tun

New Delhi (Mizzima) – The National Democratic Front (NDF) held a meeting to reorganise the party on Monday and re-elected Dr. Than Nyein as party chairman.

This meeting, held at the party’s head office in Ahlone Township in Rangoon Division, was attended by 50 delegates representing states and regions.

The delegates first elected 15 central executive committee (CEC) members. Than Nyein was elected party chairman by the CEC members.

“We re-elected Dr. Than Nyein as party chairman because he received the largest number of votes”, party political leader Khin Maung Swe told Mizzima.

The meeting elected Soe Win and Dr. Hla Soe Nyunt (Mandalay) as vice-chairmen, Dr. Win Naing as secretary, Myint Thwin (Mandalay) and Myo Zaw Aung (Rangoon) as joint-secretaries, Kyi Than as treasurer, Khin Maung Win, Dr. Than Win, Sein Win, Khin Waing Kyi, plus other eight members as CEC members.

Fifty central committee members from Kachin, Chin, Sagaing, Mandalay, Magwe, Irrawaddy, Pegu and Rangoon states and divisions attended the meeting.

The meeting also confirmed the members from states and divisions. Moreover, the meeting approved the party’s decision to expel former CEC member and MP-elect Thein Nyunt for disclosing the party’s internal affairs to the media and for non-performance of duties.

Committees on finance, central law committee, central disciplinary committee, women, youth, farmers and workers’ committees will be formed later, said NDF leaders.

The military regime announced on Monday that the Pyithu Hluttaw (lower house), the Amyotha Hluttaw (House of Ethnics – upper house) and region and state Hluttaws (local assemblies) would convene on Jan. 31.

Party leader Khin Maung Swe said that the NDF’s first motion in Hluttaws would be to release all political prisoners.

“We will move our first motion on giving amnesty to all political prisoners who are serving their prison terms. The second motion will be on economics; a level playing ground for all players and elimination of monopolies”, he said.

NDF leaders Khin Maung Swe, Dr. Than Nyein, Dr. Win Naing and two party youth members met Burmese pro-democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi on Dec. 30 in a personal meeting and will meet with her again soon.

After differences on contesting in election and other issues, four CEC members, seven CC members and some youth members of the NLD, totaling 27 members, broke away from the NLD and formed the NDF on May 6 last year.

The NDF fielded 163 candidates in the recent general election held on Nov. 7. Sixteen NDF candidates won seats.

Leave a Reply