Thursday, November 15, 2012

Burma govt forms Information Committee

Thursday, 15 November 2012 15:48 Khin Myo Thwe

The President’s Office in Naypyitaw announced on November 15 that it has formed an Information Committee, which will be responsible for the distribution of news about politics, economics, security matters, the military and disaster-related affairs.

The committee will hold press conferences and issue press releases when necessary and will do so in a timely manner, it said.

The President’s Office said that the committee must act as both “pre-active” and “reactive” sources of information. It will distribute timely news to domestic and foreign media, local organizations and the information departments of international organizations, it said.

The chairman of the Information Committee is to be President’s Office Deputy Minister Aung Thein.

Its members are: Ye Min, the Deputy Director General of the President’s Office; Ye Naing, the General Manager of News and Periodicals Enterprise under the Ministry of Information; Moe Kyaw Aung, a director in the President’s Office; and Aung Soe Thein, who is one of the directors in the Union Government Office.

Nyan Tun, a director within the President’s Office, has been appointed secretary of the Committee.

Leave a Reply