Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Thein Sein nominated as presidential candidate

 Tuesday, 01 February 2011 16:13 Mizzima News

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) - Five parliamentary representatives including current Prime Minister Thein Sein and retired Lieutenant General Thiha Thura Tin Aung Myint Oo have been nominated for the two positions of vice president in Burma's new government.

Current PM Thein Sein in leadership race. Photo : Mizzima
The People’s Parliament nominated Thein Sein , the chief of the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), and Saw Thein Aung from the Phalon-Sawaw Democratic Party.

The representatives from the military nominated Thiha Thura Tin Aung Myint Oo, the Secretary 1 of the State Peace and Development Council (SPDC).

The National Parliament nominated USDP’s lawmaker Sai Mawk Kham, the chairman of the Shan State Literature and Culture Committee, and Dr. Aye Maung from Rakhine National Development Party.

The president and the two vice presidents will be elected on Thursday.

As the USDP gained the upper hand in the Parliament, Thein Sein from the People’s Parliament and Sai Mawk Kham from the National Parliament are likely to become vice-presidents.

A lawmaker told Mizzima that the parliamentary government would be formed within this week.

Leave a Reply