Friday, February 25, 2011

UEC members nominated; Supreme Court judges approved

Friday, 25 February 2011 12:58 Ko Wild

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) – President Thein Sein nominated six persons to be members of the Union Election Commission (UEC) on Thursday, during the 12th session of the joint Parliament in Naypyidaw.

The massive new Parliament buildings and other
government buildings in Naypyidaw. Photo : Mizzima
The nominations include Aung Myint, Myint Naing, Dr. Myint Kyi, Thar Oo, Win Kyi and Nyunt Tin. Four of the nominees are current UEC members. The nominees must be approved by a joint session of Parliament.

In other action, Parliament unanimously approved six Supreme Court judges: Thar Htay, Soe Nyunt, Mya Thein, Myint Aung, Aung Zaw Thein and Myint Han to the country’s highest court.

The joint session lasted about 15 minutes.

Two UEC nominees, deputy attorney general Myint Naing and Win Kyi, are from Taungthar in Mandalay Division. Observers said that they were nominated on the recommendation of SPDC minister Aung Thaung, who is close to junta leader Senior General Than Shwe.

Earlier, members of Parliament approved retired general Tin Aye as UEC chairman.

Brief profiles of UEC nominees:

Myint Naing, age 73

Nationality and Religion:  Burmese, Buddhist
Education:                     B.A. (Law), LL.B
Current occupation:        UEC member, retired deputy attorney general
Address:                        No. 36, Thitsar Shwepyi road, deputy minister housing, Naypyidaw
Permanent address:        No. 2107, Uttara Thiri Township, Naypyidaw
Native:                          Kyaukkar Taung village, Taungthar Township, Mandalay Division
Spouse:                         Tin Htay Hlaing (Tera village, Taungthar Township)

Aung Myint, age 72

Nationality and Religion:               Burmese, Buddhist
Education:                                   B.Science.
Native:                                        Kunchankon, Rangoon
Current occupation:                      member of UEC
Current and Permanent address:   Flat No. 26, Zeyathiri Township; Deputy Minister Housing, Naypyidaw.

Dr. Daw Myint Kyi, age 66

Nationality and Religion:  Burmese, Buddhist
Education:                     M.A. (History), Ph.D. (International Relations)
Current occupation:        member of UEC
Current Address:            No. 11, Building No. 4, Sabe Housing, Zabuthiri Township, Naypyidaw
Permanent Address:      No. 58, Yadana lane, Thiri Yadana Housing, Thingangyun, Rangoon

Thar Oo, age 63

Nationality and Religion:    Burmese, Buddhist
Education:                         Electrical Communication, B.E (EC)
Native:                              Win Pa village, Theinseik sub-township, Thaton Township, Mon State
Current occupation:            member of UEC
Current Address:                Building No. 3, Room No. 22, Sabe Housing, Zabuthiri Township, Naypyidaw
Permanent Address:          Communication Training School compound, Lower Pazundaung, Rangoon.

Win Kyi, age 66

Nationality and Religion:   Burmese, Buddhist
Education:                       B.Sc. (Hons), D.S., M.Sc. (USA)
Native:                           Taungtha
Spouse:                          Wei Wei Phyu (Pathein)
Current occupation:         member of UEC
Current Address:             Room No. 2, Building No. 10, Sabe Housing, Zabuthiri Township, Naypyidaw
Permanent Address:        No. 156/2 (14/3) Myinthar Ward, Yuzanamar Street, South Okkalapa, Rangoon

Nyunt Tin, age 70

Nationality and Religion:   Mon-Burmese, Buddhist
Education:                      B.A. HGP (Higher Grade Pleader)
Native:                           Winyaw Zeikgyi village, Kyarinn Seikkyi Township, Karen State
Spouse:                          Myint Myint Sein (Kyimyindaing Township, Rangoon)
Current occupation:        ember of UEC
Current Address:            No. 2, Building No. 9, Sabe Housing, Zabuthiri Township, Naypyidaw
Permanent Address:       No. 102, Yazadirik Street, Myaing Tharyar Ward, Mawlamyaing

Leave a Reply