Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Naypyitaw unveils anti-corruption board

Wednesday, 09 January 2013 15:23 Mizzima News

President Thein Sein’s office has announced the names of a nine-member panel to tackle corruption and bribery in the country’s public sector.

PHOTO: Damian Gadal / Flickr

According to a report in state-run The New Light of Myanmar, the anti-corruption board will be headed by Vice-President Dr. Sai Mauk Kham and will include five ministers from the President’s Office: Thein Nyunt, Soe Maung, Soe Thein, Tin Naing Thein and Hla Tun. Minister of Home Affairs Lt-Gen Ko Ko will sit on the panel, as will Attorney-General Dr. Tun Shin and a member of the Legal Advisory Board to the President, Than Kyaw.

A statement released by the President’s Office on Wednesday said that the new committee has been formed “as part of efforts for the emergence of good governance and clean government.”

According to TrustLaw, a legal news branch of Reuters, Naypyitaw has also “expressed its intention to join the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative to regulate an industry that has so far been opaque.”

TrustLaw also reported that the President has called on state officials to repay embezzled funds, and that the Ministry of Home Affairs is urging Burmese citizens to report instances of bribery and corruption.

In July, an anti-corruption law was discussed in the Lower House. Legislation is still pending.

It was reported in October 2012 that Naypyitaw was taking steps to achieve full compliance with the UN Convention against Corruption (UNCAC).

However, in December, international watchdog Transparency International announced that it continues to rate Burma as one of the most corrupt countries in the world. In its annual ranking of 176 countries, Burma emerged ahead of only Somalia, North Korea, Afghanistan and Sudan.
Related article:

Leave a Reply